Welcome Guest Active Topics
CCL Messageboard » CCL News » CCL Desktop Software » Software on 2nd Computer
MoonKnight1
Saturday, February 23, 2013 9:50:43 AM
Rank: Beyonder
Groups: Forum Admin, Guru, Member, Moderator, Sports Host, Super Seller
Location: Richmond, VA
Joined: 5/24/2010 | Posts: 5,415 | Points: 22,963
Shop at My Store
I have the software installed on my desktop at home where I do all of my work. I spend a lot of time at my girlfriends house and was wondering if there was a way for me to access the software from her computer. Would I have to get a second subscription?
Thanks!
Quality. Consistency. Variety. Reliable. Fair. Friendly





comicscastle
Saturday, February 23, 2013 10:38:51 AM
Rank: Beyonder
Groups: Member
Location: New Jersey
Joined: 1/30/2008 | Posts: 15,560 | Points: 436,578
just save everything to an external drive and transfer it from computer to computer. Just make sure you update each time as you open the software.


The following stores are all stores that I've dealt with or have become friends with through the forums and I highly recommend them all.
Comics Castle-AKA Pat McCauslin
Alpha Comics--ComicVortex--Comic Cellar--Hall of Heroes--Swifty's Olde Tyme Comic Shoppe


wpmcclure
Saturday, February 23, 2013 10:59:34 AM
Rank: Large Noggin
Groups: Member
Location: Washington
Joined: 7/28/2010 | Posts: 463 | Points: 4,368
Dropbox is the way to go! Sync to same Dropbox path on both machines.
HeroComics
Wednesday, August 14, 2013 12:49:59 PM
Rank: Herald of Galactus
Groups: Member, Super Seller
Location: Chicago\Michigan
Joined: 7/9/2007 | Posts: 1,113 | Points: 17,722
Shop at My Store
wpmcclure wrote:
Dropbox is the way to go! Sync to same Dropbox path on both machines.


Ok, so I tried that. It is still looking to update on its initial install, 22000 items.

I dropped the 'MIDTEN MEDIA' folder from My documents from my desktop into dropbox and synced it BEFORE I downloaded and installed CCL for the first time on my laptop.

I made sure that BEFORE I ran the program for the first time (I installed it, with the option NOT to run it immediately after installation) on my laptop, I copied the folder from dropbox and overwrote The MIDTEN MEDIA folder, and all the files in it.

did I miss a step?
HeroComics
Friday, August 16, 2013 8:42:45 AM
Rank: Herald of Galactus
Groups: Member, Super Seller
Location: Chicago\Michigan
Joined: 7/9/2007 | Posts: 1,113 | Points: 17,722
Shop at My Store
The current problem seems to be when I move the data back and forth, it has to do a MASSIVE shelf update...

which was already done on the computer I used previous. Is this information not transferred?
Users browsing this topic
Guest

Forum Jump

Access

You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Main Forum RSS : RSS

This page was generated in 0.124 seconds.
(0.082 seconds)

All images on comic collector live copyright of their respective publishers. © Copyright 2015, MidTen Media Inc. GOLO241