Log In Forums Help
Comic Collector Live
Shop :: John Byrne's 2112 :: 1-B Reviews :: A Combination of Influences...
Find Comics for Sale
Items For Sale
All Comics For Sale
New Releases
CGC Comics
Bundled Lots
Store Locator
Search Library
Search By Title
Publisher
Story Arc
Character
Credits
Release Date
Change Request Manager
News & Reviews
Reviews
News
Our Products and Services
Get the Software
Buying Comics And Stuff
Selling Your Comics
Opening A Store
Community
Forum
Store Locator
Member Locator

A Combination of Influences Makes this Work
Review for John Byrne's 2112 1-B

Graphic Novel / Trade by Dark Horse, Apr 1992

     
  Details   Reviews   Market Stats    
 

     
July 31, 2011
isalazar

A Combination of Influences Makes this Work

The first impression I get while reading John Byrne's 2112 is that it reminds me of Robocop and Judge Dredd. But lets us not forget the influence that is prevalent in this work, that of Philip K Dick's Blade Runner and other stories. There is also traces of Ray Bradbury in how dinosaurs are represented as source of entertainment and amusement instead of the wild beasts that roamed the Earth eons ago.

John Byrne art and writing has always impressed me. He is a hard working writer/artist in the tradition of Jim Starlin and Frank Miller. A rare breed in the combined talents and a pleasure to read for all of us.

There is one influence that is very evident in the art of this graphic novel; that is, the influence of the "King", not Elvis, but Jack Kirby. The influence is mainly felt in the super-hero characters introduced on page 18 and best illustrated by Ravak, the hairy monster that reminds us of a Fourth World character which will remain nameless and there are others that definite inspirations-walking.

One of the strong elements to this dystopia is the way Byrne imagines Earth's environment after hundreds of years of abuse. Take Brazil lush jungles become desolate desert.

John Byrne's 2112 is also part of the Next Men world that needs to be read to get the full impact of the world created by Byrne.

The combination of influences makes this title a strong addition to the Sci-Fi graphic novel.
Comments
No Comments
Status Info
Not in Wishlist Not in a Current Order Not in a Cart
On Sale Now
Sort:
East Bay Comics
ebcomix
For Sale: 1
1567·5·2
CSR:100%

Heroes For $ale
bolt_boy
For Sale: 1
136·1·0
CSR:100%

Alpha Comics
pottersan
For Sale: 1
967·5·0
CSR:100%
All images on comic collector live copyright of their respective publishers. © Copyright 2008, MidTen Media Inc. GOLO241