Forum
Store Locator
Member Locator
Welcome Guest Active Topics
CGC Grading and pricing Options
scopus1
Posted: Wednesday, May 14, 2014 10:14:14 AM
Groups: Member

New to this forum but i'm either naive or confused. I've been collecting for aver 40 years and grading standards have always been the same no matter the age of the book. was reading the other day and heard that cgc doesn't grade as harshly on older books as they do on newer ones. this makes no sense to me!!! nm is nm and poor is poor no matter the age of the item imho. i just think that if the highest grade of a book is a 7.0 then so be it, don't give it a pass because it is old.
Don't even get me started on prices for graded books it is insane. i just don't get it, why pay way over book price for something that is in a slab and says nm on it. the only thing i see as a real benefit is the restoration check, but if people are willing to pay the price i guess its their money.
thoughts?

I just think that the grading services are taking a lot of fun out of the hobby. i love haggling over prices it is a way to get good info and learn what people are looking for in a comic. I agree that the books are meant to be read. i read mine and i don't care if it has "heaven forbid" a fingerprint that you can't see without special equipment "get real"
i guess that is what happens when you have more money than sense. another thing that i heard is that cgc doesn't tell you why a book is marked with a lower grade. "i guess you are just supposed to accept that they are the gods of comics and go on" WRONG!!!! sound familiar? trust me i'm from the government

Big Grin Big Grin
MoonKnight1
Posted: Wednesday, May 14, 2014 10:30:02 AM

Groups: Guru, Member, Moderator, Sports Host, Super Seller

Shop at My Store

Hi Brian,

Welcome to Comic Collector Live!

It's weird that you bring this up. I was actually thinking about that issue recently. I really don't know the answer either.