Forum
Store Locator
Member Locator
Welcome Guest Active Topics
Which Comic bags to use? Options
Jshock80
Posted: Thursday, September 22, 2011 8:23:58 PM

Groups: Member, Subscriber

Hi all since I am new to this I would like to ask you guys a question, I have been told for the older comics and the oldest I have is 1984 I have been told to use the Mylar bags for those comic books, because of the paper used at that time is thinner then it is today, which is obvious. What I am asking is that a true statement and if so would it be better to use the 2 mil or 4mil mylar bags, or just use the poly bags?. I would like to thank all you helped me with my first post and look foward to reading your replys. Thanks for all the help.

Dennis
ninjapirategear
Posted: Thursday, September 22, 2011 8:52:08 PM

Groups: Member

I'm not the ultimate authority on this issue, but I would say the mylar bags are good for high-value books, but for an average book the poly bags should be fine. It's more important to keep them in a cool, dry place.

I've never used anything thicker than 2 mil mylar. They're perfect as far as I'm concerned. And they make your book look BEAUTIFUL.

Check out the Southern Maryland Comic-Con on July 7!
Jshock80
Posted: Thursday, September 22, 2011 9:36:58 PM

Hi Ninja Thanks alot for the info very much appreciated

Dennis
spiderjack
Posted: Thursday, September 22, 2011 11:22:29 PM

I use the 2mil for my entire collection
to me it's not worth the extra cash for the four mil and the 2 mil is easier to work with
You could also try the 1 mil mylites which are nice they are slightly thiner then the standard poly bog but they offer you the protection of mylar at a discount price

Nanosplicer
Posted: Friday, September 23, 2011 1:07:15 AM